## THE TOWNSHIP OF MAXATAWNY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS REORGANIZATION MEETING TUESDAY, JANUARY 2, 2024

A. Call the meeting to order – Chairman Heath Wessner called the meeting to order at 3:00PM. Members Present: John Deplanque and Marcus Simonetti. Officials Present: Roadmaster, Bobby Turner; Secretary/Treasurer, Jerilyn Wehr; and Code Enforcement Officer, Chris Paff.

The Oath of Office was conducted by District Justice Gail Greth for the following

- Marcus Simonetti Township Supervisor
- Steve Wilson Township Auditor
- Bob Grim Kutztown University Board of Trustees
- B. Public Comment pertaining to the Reorganization of the Township

   i. Resident Ethan Boyer thanked the Board for the opportunity to sit on the Planning
  - Commission and stated that he is not seeking reappointment to the Commission
- C. Appointment of Chairman and Secretary Pro Tem Motion was made by Deplanque and seconded by Simonetti to appoint Secretary Jerilyn Wehr. Motion passed (3-0).
- D. Election of Chairman of the Board of Supervisors
  Secretary Wehr called for nominations for 2024 Chairman.
  Motion was made by Simonetti and seconded by Wessner to nominate John Deplanque. Motion passed (3-0).
- E. Election of Vice-Chairman of the Board of Supervisors Motion was made by Simonetti and seconded by Wessner to nominate Marcus Simonetti. Motion passed (3-0).
  - 1. Appointment of Secretary/Treasurer
    - i. Motion was made by Wessner and seconded by Simonetti to appoint Jerilyn Wehr. Motion passed (3-0).
  - 2. Appointment of the Open Records Officer
    - i. Motion was made by Wessner and seconded by Simonetti to appoint Jerilyn Wehr. Motion passed (3-0).
  - 3. Appointment of the Recording and Finance Officer for the Planning Commission
    - i. Motion was made by Wessner and seconded by Simonetti to appoint Jerilyn Wehr. Motion passed (3-0).
  - 4. Appointment of Roadmaster
    - i. Motion was made by Wessner and seconded by Simonetti to appoint Bobby Turner. Motion passed (3-0).
  - 5. Appointment of Foreman
    - i. Motion was made by Wessner and seconded by Simonetti to appoint Roy Wessner. Motion passed (3-0).
  - 6. Appointment of the Zoning Officer, Code Enforcement Officer, Sewage Enforcement Officer, Building Inspector, and BCO.
    - i. Motion was made by Wessner and seconded by Simonetti to appoint Christopher Paff. Motion passed (3-0).
  - 7. Motion to adopt resolution 2024-01 Employee Wages
  - i. Motion was made by Wessner and seconded by Simonetti. Motion passed (3-0).
  - 8. Appointment of Township Solicitor

- i. Motion was made by Simonetti and seconded by Wessner to table the appointment of Township Solicitor. Motion passed (3-0).
- 9. Appointment of the Township Engineer
  - i. Motion was made by Wessner and seconded by Simonetti to appoint McCarthy Engineering. Motion passed (3-0).
- 10. Appointment of Alternate Zoning and Code Enforcement Officer
  - i. Motion was made by Wessner and seconded by Simonetti to appoint McCarthy Engineering. Motion passed (3-0).
- 11. Appointment of Commercial Plan Review and alternate Building Inspectors/BCO
  - i. Motion was made by Wessner and seconded by Simonetti to appoint Kraft Code with Barry Issett as an alternate. Motion passed (3-0).
- 12. Appoint Jeff Warmkessel as Alternate Sewage Enforcement Officer
  - i. Motion was made by Wessner and seconded by Simonetti. Motion passed (3-0).
- 13. Appoint Tricia Wessner as Assistant Property Maintenance Inspector
  - i. Motion made by Wessner and seconded by Simonetti to appoint Tricia Wessner. Motion passed (3-0).
- 14. Appoint H.A. Berkheimer as the LST, AMT, and Delinquent Per Capita Tax Collector
- i. Motion was made by Wessner and seconded by Simonetti. Motion passed (3-0).15. Appoint Berks EIT Bureau as the EIT Tax Collector
  - i. Motion was made by Wessner and seconded by Simonetti. Motion passed (3-0).
- 16. Motion to adopt resolution 2024-02 Appointment to the Zoning Hearing Board (one member and one alternate position available) 3-year term
  - i. Motion was made by Simonetti and seconded by Deplanque to appoint Ken Franke to the member seat and John Zima to the alternate seat, as well as maintain existing alternate Scot Wohlin to remain on the Board to complete the existing C&B Development Hearing. Motion passed (2-1). Wessner - no
- 17. Appointment to the Municipal Authority (one seat available) 5-year term
  - i. Motion made by Simonetti and seconded by Deplanque to appoint Martin Kozlowski. Motion passed (2-1). Wessner - no
- 18. Appointment to the Planning Commission (two seats available)- 4-year term
  - i. Motion was made by Simonetti and seconded by Deplanque to appoint Rob Reynolds and Laurel Burkhardt. Motion passed (2-1) Wessner - no.
- 19. Appointment to the Historic Commission (one seat available) 5-year term
  - i. Motion made by Simonetti and seconded by Wessner to appoint Brendan Strausser. Motion passed (3-0).
- 20. Appointment to the Building Code Appeals Board (three members and one alternate position available) 1-year term
  - i. Motion was made by Wessner and seconded by Simonetti to appoint Jason Fegely and Derek Keim. Motion passed (3-0).
- 21. Appointment of the Vacancy Board Chairman (one position available)
  - i. Motion made by Simonetti and seconded by Deplanque to appoint Bob Grim. Motion passed (2-1). Wessner - no
- 22. Appoint Rick Luckenbill as Park Ranger
  - i. Motion was made by Wessner and seconded by Simonetti . Motion passed (3-0).
- 23. Appoint Josh Young as Emergency Management Coordinator for 2024.
  - i. Motion was made by Wessner and seconded by Simonetti . Motion passed (3-0).
- 24. Appoint M&T Bank and Pennsylvania Local Government Investment Trust (PLGIT) as the Depository for Maxatawny Township.
  - i. Motion was made by Wessner and seconded by Simonetti. Motion passed (3-0).
- 25. Motion to approve the Treasurer's Bond in the amount of \$500,000 secured through Brosky Insurance.
  - i. Motion was made by Wessner and seconded by Simonetti. Motion passed (3-0).

- 26. Motion to adopt resolution 2024-03 Appointment of Long Barrell as Township Auditori. Motion was made by Wessner and seconded by Simonetti. Motion passed (3-0).
- 27. Motion to appoint Jerilyn Wehr as the voting delegate to the 2024 PSATS Conference i. Motion was made by Wessner and seconded by Simonetti. Motion passed (3-0).
- 28. Motion to approve the expenses paid for the 2024 PSATS Conference, as previous years: mileage, rooms, meals, and wages for fulltime employees.
  - i. Motion was made by Wessner and seconded by Simonetti. Motion passed (3-0).
- 29. Motion to authorize the Secretary to carry over employee unused vacation time from 2023
  - i. Motion was made by Wessner and seconded by Simonetti. Motion passed (3-0).
- 30. Approve the mileage rate reimbursement for 2024 at the current IRS Rate established of \$.67 per mile.

i. Motion was made by Wessner and seconded by Simonetti . Motion passed (3-0).

F. Motion to adjourn - Chairman Deplanque adjourned the meeting at 3:50pm

Respectfully Submitted,

Jerilyn Wehr, Secretary